Blitzboks name 14-man squad for Olympics


Connect Radio News
Reading Time: < 1 minute

Six players with previous Olympic Games experience, including 2016 bronze medalist Rosko Specman have been included in the 14-man Springbok Sevens squad for the 2024 Paris Olympic Games.

Specman will partake in his second Olympic Games, alongside Impi Visser, Zain Davids, Selvyn Davids, Ronald Brown and Siviwe Soyizwapi, who were all part of the squad that finished fifth at the Tokyo Olympics in 2021.

Brown and Katlego Letebele were named as travelling reserves and will only be called upon in case of injury to one of the 12 players in the squad.

Springbok Sevens interim head coach Philip Snyman stuck to the group that won the Olympic repechage tournament in Monaco last month. That victory secured the last berth on the 12-team roster for the Paris Games.

a day ago